About Macquarie

The Division of Macquarie covers all of the Hawkesbury and the Blue Mountains local government areas. At 4,374 square kilometres, it is the largest electorate in Sydney, and is larger than all other Sydney electorates put together.

It is an area rich in culture, natural beauty and history. It is home to villages, towns, rural areas and, of course, the World Heritage Listed Greater Blue Mountains Area wilderness. At times it has the dual challenges of bush fire and floods. In no other so-called Western Sydney seat does it take three hours to drive from one end of the electorate to the other, with ferries required to cross rivers along the way.

Susan Templeman is the fifteenth person to be the Member for Macquarie, an electorate which has existed continuously since Federation. The most prominent former member is Ben Chifley, the 16th Prime Minister of Australia, and a man who was dedicated to making the economy fair, just, and accessible for all. Susan is dedicated to continuing that legacy.

The electorate is named for Lachlan Macquarie, the Governor of New South Wales from 1810 to 1821.

If you live in either the Blue Mountains City Council, or Hawkesbury City Council, then you are in the Electorate of Macquarie and are represented by Susan Templeman. 

What state electorate am I in?

The Federal Electorate of Macquarie encompasses three different State Electorates. There are certain issues which are best dealt with by your State Member - for instance, State roads, stamp duty, housing and specific enquiries about local schools and hospitals. If you are uncertain who your State Member is, or whether they can help you with your issue, please feel free to contact our office.


Electorate State Member Council Towns/Villages
Blue Mountains Trish Doyle MP City of Blue Mountains


Bell, Berambing, Blackheath, Bullaburra, Glenbrook, Hawkesbury Heights, Katoomba, Lapstone, Leura, Linden, Medlow Bath, Megalong, Mount Irvine, Mount Riverview, Mount Tomah, Mount Victoria, Mount Wilson, North Katoomba, Shipley, Springwood, Sun Valley, Valley Heights, Warrimoo, Wentworth Falls, Winmalee, Woodford, Yellow Rock, Yosemite


Hawkesbury Robyn Preston MP City of Hawkesbury


Agnes Banks, Bilpin, Blaxlands Ridge, Blgh Park, Bowen Mountain, Bucketty, Cattai, Central Colo, Central Macdonald, Clarendon, Colo, Colo Heights, Cumberland Reach, East Kurrajong, Ebenezer, Freemans Reach, Glossodia, Grose Vale, Grose Wold, Higher Macdonald, Hobartville, Kurmond, Kurrajong, Kurrajong Heights, Kurrajong Hills, Leets Vale, Lower Macdonald, Lower Portland, Maraylya, McGraths Hill, Mellong, Mogo Creek, Mountain Lagoon, Mulgrave, North Richmond, Oakville, Perrys Crossing, Pitt Town, Pitt Town Bottoms, Putty, Richmond, Richmond Lowlands, Sackville, St Albans, Scheyville, South Windsor, Ten Mile Hollow, Tennyson, The Devils Wilderness, The Slopes, Upper Colo, Upper Macdonald, Vineyard, Warawaralong, Webbs Creek, Wheeny Creek, Wilberforce, Windsor, Windsor Downs, Wisemans Ferry, Womerah, Wrights Creek, Yarramundi